Forums
Hung at "Checking for Updates" - Printable Version

+- Forums (http://www.easyuefi.com/forums)
+-- Forum: The EasyUEFI Development Team (http://www.easyuefi.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?fid=1)
+--- Forum: WinToHDD (http://www.easyuefi.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?fid=4)
+--- Thread: Hung at "Checking for Updates" (/showthread.php?tid=227)



Hung at "Checking for Updates" - dnbdave - 01-12-2016

Installed/running on a Win10 Enterprise VM, the update check dialog pops and does not complete. Can't be cancelled. Not frozen hung, but spinning endlessly instead.

Pretty sure firewall or AV is catching/blocking it though whitelisting doesn't help. Any commandline switch I can pass to bypass the initial update check at first run?

Thanks.


RE: Hung at "Checking for Updates" - dnbdave - 01-12-2016

(01-12-2016, 01:55 AM)dnbdave Wrote: Installed/running on a Win10 Enterprise VM, the update check dialog pops and does not complete. Can't be cancelled. Not frozen hung, but spinning endlessly instead.

Pretty sure firewall or AV is catching/blocking it though whitelisting doesn't help. Any commandline switch I can pass to bypass the initial update check at first run?

Thanks.

Worth noting WinToUSB does the same exact thing as well. 


RE: Hung at "Checking for Updates" - dnbdave - 01-12-2016

(01-12-2016, 02:03 AM)dnbdave Wrote:
(01-12-2016, 01:55 AM)dnbdave Wrote: Installed/running on a Win10 Enterprise VM, the update check dialog pops and does not complete. Can't be cancelled. Not frozen hung, but spinning endlessly instead.

Pretty sure firewall or AV is catching/blocking it though whitelisting doesn't help. Any commandline switch I can pass to bypass the initial update check at first run?

Thanks.

Worth noting WinToUSB does the same exact thing as well. 

Fixed it: changed the firstrun in the ini from 1 to 0 and it skips the update check. Big Grin


RE: Hung at "Checking for Updates" - admin - 01-12-2016

You need to change the CheckOnStartup from 1 to 0 in WinToHDD.ini.
Please send the "user.log" to us, it is located in the bin folder under the installation directory.
Thanks.