Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Option to 'Always retain the first backup'
#1
I didn't select this option, and have been running backups.

Would it be OK if I select this option now?
Reply
#2
@gsgordon42,

It is always advisable to keep at least one full backup (Grandfather) when running differential and incremental backups.  If you only create full backups, it is not really an issue.

I invite you to read the HBS FAQs Topic Tutorial, Post 8 on the subject of backup scheduling.

Have a great day.

Regards,
Phil
Reply
#3
Thanks Phil,

I've had a look at the FAQs, but still don't have an answer.

The question is - is it OK to tick the option to 'Always retain the first backup' after backups have been running for a while without it being ticked?
Reply
#4
@gsgordon42,

Thank you for your reply.  I don't know your exact backup scheduling strategy, so I can't comment on that.  Nonetheless, checking "Always retain the first backup" will not blow up anything.  Depending on the backup task to which it is assigned, HBS should retain that first backup that was taken after the backup task was created, indefinitely.  You always need the most recent full backup to restore subsequent differential and incremental backups to a particular full backup.

If your schedule mandates new full backups after X number of days, then that original backup taken before the next full backup will ensure that the original full backup will be retained forever, as I understand it, even though you now have a subsequent full backup, and the original full backup is no longer needed to restore for any new differential or incremental backups taken after a subsequent full backup.  

I do not use backup scheduling at all, and I create only complete weekly Disk/Partition backups of all six partitions on my OS disk.  In the interim, I have Proton Drive, and my own local backup strategy for changed data files.  That said, I keep six weeks' worth of my most recent weekly backups, and I also keep selected older backups in case I might have to refer to them, which is very seldom, buy it has happened.

If you hover over the information circle at the end of that option, it tends to confirm what I am saying, but I will defer to my more knowledgeable colleagues to respond conclusively.

Have a great day.

Regards,
Phil
Reply
#5
Additionally to what Phil already said:

The function was explained by @admin in this post:
https://www.easyuefi.com/forums/thread-5...l#pid14327

In the newer versions of HBS this checkbox means it will never delete the first full backup that was taken with this task, regardless of what image retention policy you have chosen for full backups.

I don't think that option has any effect anymore if your first full backup was already deleted during your ongoing backup task.

Personally I would recommend just leaving it off. The default value is on, though, and it won't hurt as Phil already said. If you select it and you set the retention policy to leave 1 full backup, you might end up with 2 full backups because the very first full backup will always be kept. I think this is rather confusing so I keep this option unticked to know exactly what image will be kept.

Hope that helps!

Cheers,
al3x
Reply


Forum Jump:


Users browsing this thread: 3 Guest(s)