(03-11-2025, 12:40 AM)Mint Wrote: It's the fact that the comment window appears when you're creating the image for the first time. What's the point of the description box if the program is going to ignore it? The description box and comment Window are the same thing. One makes the other redundant. Again please take a closer look at the screen shot. https://imgur.com/a/UwdmcMu
Sorry my previous explanation was incorrect. I communicated with the developer and confirmed that the comment entered when creating a task is the task's comment and the comment entered when backing up is the comment for the current backup version.
Based on their explanation, I'm not sure a FIX is required. The COMMENT allowed during a single backup operation is exactly that... only for that operation.
(03-13-2025, 05:57 PM)Froggie Wrote: Based on their explanation, I'm not sure a FIX is required. The COMMENT allowed during a single backup operation is exactly that... only for that operation.
Thanks @Froggie, yes this is not an issue and therefore does not need to be fixed.
(03-13-2025, 05:57 PM)Froggie Wrote: Based on their explanation, I'm not sure a FIX is required. The COMMENT allowed during a single backup operation is exactly that... only for that operation.
Thanks @Froggie, yes this is not an issue and therefore does not need to be fixed.
I still think it was good to bring it to your attention. I still these the comment boxes should match. Example shown here https://imgur.com/a/g333dZo
03-15-2025, 02:23 AM (This post was last modified: 03-15-2025, 02:25 AM by admin.)
(03-14-2025, 06:44 AM)Mint Wrote:
(03-14-2025, 12:47 AM)admin Wrote: Thanks @Froggie, yes this is not an issue and therefore does not need to be fixed.
I still think it was good to bring it to your attention. I still these the comment boxes should match. Example shown here https://imgur.com/a/g333dZo
I'm sorry we don't think so, we generate a comment with the current time for each version by default, through the comment the user can know when each version was generated, if all versions use the exact same comment then what's the point of it existing?
(03-14-2025, 06:44 AM)Mint Wrote: I still think it was good to bring it to your attention. I still these the comment boxes should match. Example shown here https://imgur.com/a/g333dZo
I'm sorry we don't think so, we generate a comment with the current time for each version by default, through the comment the user can know when each version was generated, if all versions use the exact same comment then what's the point of it existing?
Well that is sort of my point. In older versions of the program the comment Window (example in red here https://imgur.com/a/f8esGhO) didn't appear until after you made a differential or incremental. Having it appear when you already have a box there is effectively asking the user to comment twice on the same task.
(03-15-2025, 02:23 AM)admin Wrote: I'm sorry we don't think so, we generate a comment with the current time for each version by default, through the comment the user can know when each version was generated, if all versions use the exact same comment then what's the point of it existing?
Well that is sort of my point. In older versions of the program the comment Window (example in red here https://imgur.com/a/f8esGhO) didn't appear until after you made a differential or incremental. Having it appear when you already have a box there is effectively asking the user to comment twice on the same task.
Again, they're not the same thing, one is the description of the backup task and the other is the description of the current backup version.
(03-15-2025, 07:31 AM)Mint Wrote: Well that is sort of my point. In older versions of the program the comment Window (example in red here https://imgur.com/a/f8esGhO) didn't appear until after you made a differential or incremental. Having it appear when you already have a box there is effectively asking the user to comment twice on the same task.
Again, they're not the same thing, one is the description of the backup task and the other is the description of the current backup version.
There very much is a bug here though it's not a major one. I still think you should be aware of it though. I've taken new screenshots from another machine and I'm hopping it will be easier to understand what's going on. In one box I wrote
"This will be the only text you see"
While in the other I wrote
"text typed into this box won't appear anywhere"
The bug is the fact that the description Window is ignored in the first place.
03-19-2025, 06:27 AM (This post was last modified: 03-19-2025, 06:29 AM by admin.)
(03-19-2025, 05:42 AM)Mint Wrote:
(03-15-2025, 08:38 AM)admin Wrote: Again, they're not the same thing, one is the description of the backup task and the other is the description of the current backup version.
There very much is a bug here though it's not a major one. I still think you should be aware of it though. I've taken new screenshots from another machine and I'm hopping it will be easier to understand what's going on. In one box I wrote
"This will be the only text you see"
While in the other I wrote
"text typed into this box won't appear anywhere"
The bug is the fact that the description Window is ignored in the first place.
As you can see the text typed into the discretion box is simply not shown anywhere.
I'm sorry that the task description is not shown anywhere in the current version, but if it is necessary to show it then it will be shown after the task name, as shown in the image below:
The description in your screenshot is the description of the selected backup version.
(03-19-2025, 05:42 AM)Mint Wrote: There very much is a bug here though it's not a major one. I still think you should be aware of it though. I've taken new screenshots from another machine and I'm hopping it will be easier to understand what's going on. In one box I wrote
"This will be the only text you see"
While in the other I wrote
"text typed into this box won't appear anywhere"
The bug is the fact that the description Window is ignored in the first place.
As you can see the text typed into the discretion box is simply not shown anywhere.
I'm sorry that the task description is not shown anywhere in the current version, but if it is necessary to show it then it will be shown after the task name, as shown in the image below:
The description in your screenshot is the description of the selected backup version.
Please take a closer look at my post and the screenshots. The task description text was not shown even when you click on the little i
https://imgur.com/a/Q2cVAkl from this screenshot you can see that there's not only no i but the text should read "text typed into this box won't appear anywhere"